The Leasing Restriction Fine Schedule (PDF) was approved by the Desert Mountain Master Association (DMMA) at the regularly schedule meeting on September 24, 2018. Please make yourself fully aware of this schedule.
All of Desert Mountain is restricted to a minimum of 30-day rental, effective January 1, 2019, with the exception of eligible renters (current Desert Mountain property owners and current Desert Mountain Club members). The Master Board created policies and procedures for the restrictions beginning on January 1, 2019. Agents and owners must provide notification to the DMMA Office in order for the security file to be updated.
In order for you to be in compliance with the leasing restriction policy, advertising a short term rental must include the following disclaimer,
Homes in Desert Mountain are available to rent on a short term basis (30 days or less) to eligible renters only. Eligible renters are defined as current property owners in Desert Mountain or current Club members of Desert Mountain Club, Inc. Any person who is not a current owner of property in Desert Mountain or a member of Desert Mountain Club, Inc. may only rent for 30 days or more. Simply copy and paste this statement into your listing in order to be in compliance with our policy.
Understanding Short-Term & Vacation Rentals from the City of Scottsdale’s Point of View
In 2017, the Arizona State Legislature passed a law eliminating the ability for cities and towns to prohibit short term rental properties (offered for rent less than 30 days). With the growing popularity of these properties thanks to online marketplaces like Airbnb, VRBO and others, Scottsdale’s Neighborhood Advisory Commission is encouraging residents, rental property owners and homeowners associations to learn more.
Short-term rental owner information available in searchable database; reminder to register. The Scottsdale City Council adopted an ordinance fall of 2019 that requires owners of short-term or vacation rentals to provide the city with emergency and complaint contact information including names, email addresses and phone numbers. The database for this information has been updated so that owners and operators can now provide information online in a fillable form. This is a "searchable" database where the new mapping system shows both the properties registered with Maricopa County as rental properties and short-term rentals registered with the city.
- Register your home with the DMMA if it is a rental property.
- Make sure that when you have someone renting your home that you inform the DMMA office at least 72 hours prior to the tenant arriving. Information on the tenant needs to be uploaded to the security system to ensure easy entry.
- Obtain a Transaction Privilege Sales Tax license with the State of Arizona Department of Revenue - it’s the law!
- Register your rental with Maricopa County, in accordance with ARS 33-1902
- Provide your contact information to the City of Scottsdale per City Code.
- Advertise Club amenities when posting your rental property.
- Rent your property to any non-owner or non-Club member for less than 30 days starting January 1, 2019.
- Forget to tell your tenants about when trash containers may be placed outside, where to park and that the speed limit in the Community is enforced by radar.
Additional Rental Restrictions for the following villages
Six villages within Desert Mountain have existing 30-day minimum rental restrictions even to current Owners or Club members, and this restriction remains the same after January 1, 2019.
- Cochise Geronimo
- Lone Mountain II
- Lost Star
- Saguaro Forest
- Seven Arrows